Say Aloha to the 2013 Pro Bowl

The 2013 Pro Bowl will tack place in Aloha Stadium, Honolulu this Sunday at midnight Irish time. Each year the best players from each conference are voted by the players, coaches and fans of the NFL to play against each other in Hawaii.

Although by the time the Pro Bowl comes around the rosters are generally depleted by players becoming unavailable due to going to the Super Bowl or through injuries. This year 28 replacements have been already been called up, and more will probably be called up this week.

With the game itself being of a somewhat questionable standard in the last few years, Roger Goodell has questioned whether there is any point in actually playing the game, even agreeing that last year’s game was “embarrassing”.

Goodell said “If we cannot accomplish that kind of standard , I am inclined to not play it. It is really tough to force competition, and after a long season, to ask those guys to go out and play at the same level they played is really tough.”

Hopefully this year all the players take the stance Adrian Peterson has going into Sunday. Peterson has promised to “play hard”, stating “It is hard for me to play down because when you play down, you put yourself in jeopardy of getting hurt going through the motions. So I won’t be playing down”.

With everyone worried about the players’ safety in an exhibition match, there are different rules for the Pro Bowl:

  • No motion or shifting by the offense
  • Offense must have a tight end in all formations
  • Offense may not have three receivers on the same side
  • Intentional grounding is legal
  • Defense must run a 4–3 at all times
  • No press coverage except inside the five-yard line
  • No blitz
  • Not allowed to rush a punt, PAT or FG attempt
  • No calls can be challenged

The Pro Bowl is live on Sky Sports 1 with coverage starting at 11.30pm this Sunday. The two teams look like this at the moment:

Head Coach – John Fox (Denver)

Peyton Manning (QB – Denver)
Matt Schaub (QB – Houston)
Andrew Luck (QB – Indianapolis)

Arian Foster (RB – Houston)
Jamaal Charles (RB – Kansas)
C.J. Spiller (RB – Buffalo)

Marcel Reese (FB – Oakland)

A.J. Green (WR – Cincinnati)
Andre Johnson (WR – Houston)
Reggie Wayne (WR – Indianapolis)
Demaryius Thomas (WR – Denver)

Jermaine Gresham (TE – Cincinanti)
Owen Daniels (TE – Houston)

Joe Thomas (OT – Cleveland)
Duane Brown (OT – Houston)
Andrew Whitworth (OT – Cincinnati)

Richie Incognito (OG – Miami)
Wade Smith (OG – Houston)
Zane Beadles (OG – Denver)

Maurkice Pouncey (C – Pittsburgh)
Chris Myers (C – Houston)

J.J. Watt (DE – Houston)
Cameron Wake (DE – Miami)
Elvis Dumervil (DE – Denver)

Geno Atkins (DT – Cincinnati)
Kyle Williams (DT – Buffalo)
Randy Starks (DT – Miami)

Von Miller (OLB – Denver)
Tamba Hali (OLB – Kansas City)
Robert Mathis (OLB – Indianapolis)

Jerod Mayo (ILB – New England)
Derrick Johnson (ILB – Kansas City)

Champ Bailey (CB – Denver)
Johnathan Joseph (CB – Houston)
Antonio Cromartie (CB – NY Jets)

Jairus Byrd (FS – Buffalo)

LaRon Landry (SS – NY Jets)

Dustin Colquit (P – Kansas City)

Phil Dawson (K – Cleveland)

Josh Cribbs (KR – Cleveland)

Matthew Slater (Special Teams – New England)

John Denney (Long Snapper – Miami)

Head Coach – Mike McCarthy (Green Bay)

Drew Brees (QB – New Orleans)
Eli Manning (QB – NY Giants)
Russell Wilson (QB – Seattle)

Adrian Peterson (RB – Minnesota)
Marshawn Lynch (RB – Seattle)
Doug Martin (RB – Tampa Bay)

Jerome Felton (FB – Minnesota)

Brandon Marshall (WR – Chicago)
Julio Jones (WR – Atlanta)
Victor Cruz, (WR – NY Giants)
Vincent Jackson (WR – Tampa Bay)

Tony Gonzalez (TE – Atlanta)
Jason Witten (TE – Dallas)

Russell Okung (OT – Seattle)
Jermon Bushrod (OT – New Orleans)
Trent Williams (OT – Washington)

Josh Sitton (OG – Green Bay)
Jahri Evans (OG – New Orleans)
Chris Snee (OG – NY Giants)

Max Unger (C – Seattle)
Jeff Saturday (C – Green Bay)

Jason Pierre-Paul (DE – NY Giants)
Julius Peppers (DE – Chicago)
Jared Allen (DE – Minnesota)

Henry Melton (DT – Chicago)
Ndamukong Suh (DT – Detroit)
Gerald McCoy (DT – Tampa Bay)

Aldon Smith (OLB – San Francisco)
Chad Greenway (OLB – Minnesota)
Ryan Kerrigan (OLB – Washington)
Anthony Spencer (OLB – Dallas)

Daryl Washington (ILB – Arizona)
London Fletcher (ILB – Washington)

Charles Tillman (CB – Chicago)
Tim Jennings (CB – Chicago)
Patrick Peterson (CB – Arizona)

Earl Thomas (FS – Seattle)
Thomas DeCoud (FS – Atlanta)

William Moore (SS – Atlanta)

Thomas Morstead (P – New Orleans)

Blair Walsh (K – Minnesota)

Leon Washington (KR – Seattle)

Lorenzo Alexander (Speacial Teams – Washington)

Don Muhlbach (Long Snapper – Detroit)